Sprouted Chickpea Humus

23/06/2010 at 15:03 Leave a comment

Recently I heard about a restaurant in London where you can eat Raw Cake! Amazing I thought, how could this be? So I set about educating myself in all things RAW. I’ve been learning about all sorts of things like dehydrators and enzymes and have come across some interesting recipes too. So I decided to start my little foray in to raw foodism with a nice friendly humus, nothing too taxing or scary and I have been pleasantly surprised! I confess that this recipe is not entirely raw as I used roasted sesame tahini, because thats what I had in my cupboard. But hey its near enough. The humus has a definite green and healthy flavour to it, but I really liked it, so here it is…….

Ingredients

2 cups Sprouted Chickpeas
2 to 3 cloves Garlic, finely chopped
juice of 1 Lemon
1/3 cup Olive Oil
1/2 cup Tahini (more or less depending on how thick you want your humus to be)
large pinch Sea salt
2 tsps Cumin seeds
1 tsp Ground Coriander

How To Make

Place the chickpeas in to a food processor along with the garlic and blitz to a pulp.

In a small bowl or glass, add the lemon juice, salt and olive oil and stir. Now add this to the chickpea mixture in the processor and mix again.

Pour in the tahini slowly and watch as it thickens up the humus, the more tahini you add the thicker the humus will be.

Dry fry the cumin seeds in a pan until they start to pop and the fragrance comes out. Add these and the ground coriander to the humus.

Stick your finger in and see what you think…..you can always add more oil or salt or lemon to suit your own tastes.

Eat with whatever takes your fancy!

N.B If you do not have a food processor you can use a blender and a bowl instead. Or give your arms a good work out and use a fork, although this might take a while as the raw chickpeas are quite tough.

Entry filed under: Recipes, Sauces, Dips and Pickles. Tags: , , , , .

Dark Chocolate Marzipan Balls Chickpea and Pomegranate molasses Salad

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Sweetpeas
Gluten-Free Blog Resource

Icarus Project logo

